XCritc.com Adult DVD Reviews
Porn Reviews » Adult Movie Reviews » Swallow Your Pride

Swallow Your Pride

Studio: Other » Review by Don Houston » Review Date: 9/5/05

XCritic's Advice: Skip It

Swallow Your Pride

AMA Video

Genre: Vignette

Director: Joe Laughlin

Cast: Hollie Stevens, Nautica Thorn, Erin Moore, Keiko, Cindy Sterling, Renee Pornero, Katie Gold, Christian, Rob Longshot, Seth Dickens, Brad Baldwin, Johnny Zinn, Andrew Rivera, Buster Good, Johnny Fender, Marcos Leon, Nick Jacobs

Length: 125 minutes

Dates of Production: 11/17/2004, 2/11/2005, 2/13/2005, 3/15/2005, 3/15/2005, 5/21/2005, 5/23/2005

Extra's: My me, the best extra was an 18 minute long bonus scene with Katie Gold and her uncredited male partner. The action was pretty basic and included all the usual stuff (oral, vaginal and anal with a facial) but this is what fans like to see. I also liked the Behind the Scenes footage with Nautica Thorn getting her photoshoot during her scene for about 13.5 minutes. It ended with the popshot compilation from the scenes but there was also a photogallery.

Condoms: None

Audio/Video Quality: Swallow Your Pride was presented in the usual 1.33:1 ratio full frame color as shot by director Joe Laughlin for AMA Video. The sexual parts of the movie were all shot in what appeared to be his living room or bedroom with a brief backyard tease sequence during Nautica's scene as an opener. The picture looked moderately well lit but lacked the fill lighting in some scenes that would've kept the grain at bay. Further, the worst part of the visuals was how limited the camera angles were most of the time, often making the gals look less attractive than they should have (composition of the shots is something even great editing, which this didn't have by the way, can't fix all the time). If you're looking for a movie that bridges the gap between pure home movie (amateur) and something you'd pay for (good porn), this might appeal to you more than it did to me but make no mistake that it looked like a first movie by a fan. On a bright side, there were no compression artifacts or video noise to mar the picture. The stereo audio was another area needing some attention. There was little separation, if any, and the dynamic range was nothing to write home about, but the worst part was how the levels got out of hand at times, causing massive distortion that should've been taken into consideration.

-- sponsored by --

Body of Review: With all the turn around in modern porn production, you'll find that a lot of weak material hits the shelves these days. Such was the case with AMA Video's Swallow Your Pride, a title that seemed like a rip-off of the vastly superior Red Light District Swallow My Pride series. The basic scenario was this: a gal masturbated and was then joined by a couple of guys for some oral and vaginal (in a few cases, anal was added) sex. If the gals had done a better job in more cases or the production values weren't so weak, I'd have suggested this one as something as least worth a rental but I saw women that could've made me blow my load during the tease alone in better movies try to fake it as though they were under the gun here. Here's a brief look at the scenes by female cast and action, noting that the guys didn't use condoms, if you're still interested:

Scene One: Hollie Stevens, a girl next door (if you live in the vicinity of a trailer park that is) type with light hair and a minimal outfit, was up first as she teased the camera on a bed. It was a basic tease with a lot of self conscious action but it didn't last long enough to worry about since two uncredited guys walked in to offer her a meat substitute for her hands. Since AMA Video didn't go to the trouble of identifying the males, I'm not going to name them either, except to say that they were smaller than I am (we're talking members of the teeny weenie committee folks) and about as sexually skilled. Thankfully, the focus was Hollie and she's probably seen a few thousand dicks in her life so she went to work on them fairly well. It was mechanical with little energy but I'd have done her in the same oral and vaginal ways so the scene gets a pass (barely though).

Scene Two: Nautica Thorn, the hotty on the front DVD cover, was up next as she offered her two guys some water while they did yard work. Her outfit was a form fitting white tank top and some hot pink shorts with cameltoe action going on but she retreated to the indoor couch to start masturbating in a heated manner to really get the show on the road. They peeped in on her and eventually joined her, with her sucking one off while the other went down on her. I've seen this gal smoke up a screen with heat so I was disappointed by the way she took care of these two with one up front and the other pounding her sweet pussy at all times (alternating positions) but it's tough to deny her appeal; even in a weak scene. She ended it up by swallowing both loads as indicated by the title as the standard appeared to be.

Scene Three: Erin Moore, another gal next door, this time if you live beside a strip club, began the third scene by masturbating on a large corner couch as though she were on a time table. Two guys walk in on her and the trio went to work as is standard in low end porn. This was another oral with vaginal scene although she added some over the top vocals that I found about as believable as when a stripper tells me she got off during a lap dance (for a bigger tip mind you) but considering that if you're watching the scene, you probably couldn't do much better without paying for it in real life. She gargled the semen before swallowing them down but the close up of her face wasn't in her best interests.

Scene Four: Keiko and Cindy Sterling were up next in a scene where Seth Dickens (the only guy wise enough to state his name although I knew who he was) was the sex education teacher. Providing a demonstration for the class, he showed them the basics of face fucking so Cindy took her uncredited slacker pal to study on his shaft. Keiko was easily the better of the gals at oral as well as the boning vaginal and anal. If she had toned it down in regards to her vocals, I'd have even believed she was having real fun too but at least she wasn't like oral-only Cindy. The gals ended it by taking a load in their mouths and swapping it with a kiss; downing it at the end of the action.

Scene Five: Renee Pornero, a brunette known for doing it all, was up last as she masturbated with a red fishnet outfit complimented by a black PVC miniskirt and garters. She's not a classic beauty by any means but she looked the part of a whorish gal in heat, even before her two partners joined her with their flies open and dicks at half mast. She orally attacked them both in an energetic manner designed to launch a load and compared to the others, she looked very much at home. She let them do all the work in the anal part of the scene but was otherwise decent in what she did throughout the action.

Bonus Scene: Katie Gold, a light haired lass with a nice ass and pleasing sexual demeanor, was included in a bonus scene with the Mr. Clean looking guy. I thought she did a better job than several of the other gals with her oral, vaginal and especially anal in this bedroom scene but why it was included in the bonus section instead of one of the main scenes seemed to have a lot to do with the need for some judicious editing.

Summary: Swallow Your Pride was a generic porno with little to offer outside of a decent cast having bad days during their scenes. I'm not going to endlessly bag on the director or others involved in the making of the movie but a lot of things were missing here that could've turned it around. The scenes started too soon, had little build up in terms of heat, and the gals were almost acting like they weren't happy about something (in almost every case at that). Perhaps something went on behind the scenes or maybe someone on the set was fucking with them somehow but it translated into a DVD that I could only rate as a Skip It, even with some decent extras and a lengthy running time. I hope to review a couple more AMA Video releases to see if this was an aberration or something indicative of the company although I'm sure the American Medical Association appreciated the heck out the acronym.

You can email me with questions at Houstondon @ hotmail.com if you have any constructive criticism of the review too. :) Also you can follow me on twitter @HoustonDon

comments powered by Disqus
Popular Reviews

Hot Wife 2
The Feral Woman
The Preacher's Daughter
Anal Threesomes
First Anal 2
Nurses Takin' On Big Dicks 3
Summer Lust
Stacked 5

Best Sellers

Featured Reviews

Get XCritic Via Email:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner