XCritc.com Adult DVD Reviews
Porn Reviews » Adult Movie Reviews » Slumber Party 14-18

Slumber Party 14-18

Studio: Shane's World » Review by Don Houston » Review Date: 7/4/07

XCritic's Advice: Recommended

Slumber Party 14, 15,17,18

Shane's World

Genre: Lesbian, Gonzo

Director: Uncredited

Cast: Slumber Party 14: Sky Lopez, Silvia Saint, Haven, Isabella, Chrissy Sparks, Shawna Edwards, Shay Sights, Tasha Hunter, Trish Taylor

Cast: Slumber Party 15: Holly Hollywood, Adriana Sage, Tabitha Page, Misty Mendez, Samantha Stylle, Eve, Jesse V., Kitty Marie

Cast: Slumber Party 17: Jassie, Bobbi Barrington, Ayla, Majella, Ember, Danka

Cast: Slumber Party 18: Jana Cova, Belladonna, Jenna Haze, Kaylynn, Monica Sweetheart, Natasha

Length: Slumber Party 14: 71:23 minutes

Length: Slumber Party 15: 82:11 minutes

Length: Slumber Party 17: 84:12 minutes

Length: Slumber Party 18: 83:01 minutes

Dates of Production: 7/1/2000, 8/1/2000, 8/14/2000, 11/21/2000, 7/10/2001, 9/4/2001, 2/20/2002, 5/13/2003

Extra's: Slumber Party 14: The best extra for the opening volume of the compilation would be the 10:33 minute long Behind the Scenes look at the production. Much like the other volumes in the series here, it showed the cast goofing off and sometimes engaging in more nudity or sexual conduct but always focusing on the fun factor more than anything else. I'm told that these features distill many hours of footage and can be a nightmare to edit but the end result proves that the cast was having fun. There was also a set of interviews edited into one another lasting 11:56 minutes with a male interviewer asking questions when the gals needed coaxing. There was also a photogallery and some minimal cast biographies too.

Extra's: Slumber Party 15: The best extra this time was a selection of "Lost Footage" lasting 12:32 minutes that was strictly more sex rather than the typical goofing off stuff as found in the 11:02 minute long Behind the Scenes feature. Each added value but if you like seeing women having sex, particularly toy related lesbian sex, you will like the footage more than the silliness of the antics caught on the amusing BTS. There was also an amusing feature called "Porn Stars At Home" lasting 13:38 minutes starring birthday girl Kitty Marie where she talked about herself in the pool, showed how clumsy she was, and masturbated on her bed. There was also a photogallery and some minimal cast biographies too.

-- sponsored by --

Extra's: Slumber Party 17: The first extra was a short, 4:06 minute long bonus solo masturbation scene starring Jassie. She was looking fit her and her lean, all natural body was certainly appealing to me as she stripped and started playing with herself on the couch. Compared to her more recent efforts available on DVD, this was a nice bit of work, albeit too short. That was followed by a 4:48 minute long bonus solo scene by Ayla, a sultry hotty with an all natural figure and large nipples; who diddled herself on a bed. Not to be outdone, Wendy James was given a 15:41 minute long interview by Calli Cox on a bed; called "Wendy James at Shaneswold.com (yes, it was spelled incorrectly) where she also masturbated (I would have preferred to see Calli jump in though). That was followed by the usual photogallery and cast biographies for the movie.

Extra's: Slumber Party 18: This one started off with a lengthy 18:47 minute long Behind the Scenes feature with a lot more sex taking place than the other volumes. The ending orgy was great and provided some heated exchanges of bodily fluids as the toys came into play. That was followed by the 12:30 minute long Belladonna interview on the Shane's World bed; including some masturbation action but explaining her role in porn when she was new to the scene a lot better than her role in the mainstream expose. I also really enjoyed the 12:52 minute long "porn stars at home" feature starring Kaylynn in her small apartment (though she shied away from letting the camera go into her daughter's room). Her solo action was hot too and as a fan of hers, I just wished she had a larger role in the movie. There was also a photogallery and some minimal cast biographies too.

Condoms: None

Audio/Video Quality: Slumber Party 14, 15,17,18 were all shot by uncredited directors in the usual 1.33:1 ratio full frame color; no surprise considering the age of the material, for release by Shane's World years ago. While I found it curious that volume 16 was missing (Empire advertises the set as Slumber Party 14 -18 but conveniently forgets to mention the missing volume), the look of the scenes tended to be very similar in the way they were shot, with the possible exception of the bowling alley scene in the final volume of the compilation or the add in scene from the same volume starring lovelies Jana Cova and Monica Sweetheart (they were not in the party sections of the movie). The fleshtones were accurate and the camerawork a bit shaky but the editing cleaned a lot of the problems up with the exception of some of the reliance on close up shots and lighting issues. Because they were made by Shane's World, I knew not to focus on the technical aspects in terms of wanting high end values so much as raw energy displayed, the same general dynamic the company tends to offer even now with their College Invasion series. There were no civilians messing this one up though as the plethora of pussy from several years back reminded me that even the lower than average bitrates used to compress the material onto the four respective DVDs (typically in the 4 Mbps range though elevating to the lower 7 Mbps rate in the final, best looking volume of the set) did not look bad here with a few individual scenes a bit weaker. The audio was presented in the usual 2.0 Dolby Digital English with a 192 Kbps bitrate though the separation and dynamic range were nothing special. I could hear what was going on in most of the scenes, sometimes even hearing comments or noises in the background, but it was decidedly fair in terms of audio quality.

Body of Review: Shane's World is one of the few companies in porn that needs no introduction to most people, the company making more headlines over the years due to its outreach program of College Invasion titles and attempts to get fans in on the action in public settings. Rather than follow the often boring gonzo dynamic, features with acting on the level of junior high school plays, or artistic crud usually labeled as "alt" or "erotica", the company focuses on offering up the closest thing to reality porn you are likely to see anytime soon. Others have tried to imitate these offerings and they generally fall far short of the bar elevated by the company but in terms of the fun factor offered so very often, I enjoy coming back for replay value on their projects a whole lot more than average. One of their longer running series has been the Slumber Party releases that I last saw with Slumber Party 20 when the company attempted to revive the series after a lengthy hiatus. The changes made by the director did not quite work as well as the older volumes though, which is why I was happy to see a compilation of four older volumes offered up in a value added package consisting of Slumber Party 14, 15,17,18.

Initially, my biggest question upon opening up the set was to wonder where the 16th volume went; a quick search showing it was unavailable at this time. That mystery set aside though, I knew the amount of lesbian fuck for the buck would be substantial since the extras packages always complimented the series really well and the genuine attraction the performers seemed to feel for one another made the series a winner for anyone into heated lesbian sex. Each volume had a similar feel to it with five or so scenes of ladies playfully teasing and then enjoying each other, sometimes in modest pairings and other times in Jim Holliday-esque lesbian orgies of sorts where almost anything was allowed. The biggest difference this time was that in volume 18, the intermission brought on by Jana Cova and Monica Sweetheart was clearly shot at a different time and they were not in the party scenes (sometimes presented as contests like the sumo wrestler outfits) as well as the road trip dynamic of that volume's Bowling Alley sequence.

I never got the impression that any of the performers hated working with other women, some clearly showing much better performances than their work with meat puppets elsewhere in fact, and that made the series consistent in what it offered. I know a lot of critics dismissed the action as vegetarian only translating into boring but that was not my impression; my status as a lesbian trapped in a man's body possibly influencing my opinion a bit. Rather than break down the individual scenes of the cast, some of which were harder to define thanks to the way they were shot or how gals would enter and leave scenes midway through, suffice it to say that the majority of action was rubbing, caressing, kissing, licking, and toy use; with a heavy emphasis on the toys in many scenes. Kinks like foot fetish were minimal for the most part but rimming was pretty common and the sexy attire the ladies tended to wear almost always added extra heat.

Summary: Slumber Party 14, 15,17,18 by Shane's World may be incorrectly labeled as Slumber Party 14-18 but aside from my completist desire to find a copy of volume 16, I found the approximately 8 hours worth of action to be quite enjoyable this past weekend when I watched the set all at once. Therefore, while I usually give compilations a lower grade unless they add something new to the mix, I found Slumber Party 14, 15,17,18 to merit a rating of Recommended for all it had to offer up for the mere cost of a single disc. In that sense, four for the price of one has a certain appeal to it if you ask me so give it a look if you like gonzo lesbian fare with a flair.

You can email me with questions at Houstondon @ hotmail.com if you have any constructive criticism of the review too. :) Also you can follow me on twitter @HoustonDon

comments powered by Disqus
Popular Reviews

The Feral Woman
Hot Wife 2
The Preacher's Daughter
First Anal 2
Nurses Takin' On Big Dicks 3
Anal Threesomes
My Sister's Hot Friend 49
Angela Loves Men 2

Best Sellers

Featured Reviews

Get XCritic Via Email:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner