XCritc.com Adult DVD Reviews
Porn Reviews » Adult Movie Reviews » Jenna's American Sex Star 2007

Jenna's American Sex Star 2007

Studio: Club Jenna » Review by Don Houston » Review Date: 2/12/08

XCritic's Advice: Watch It Online

Jenna Jameson was the hostess.

Jenna’s American Sex Star 2007: Special Set

Club Jenna

Jenna Jameson and Andrea Lowell

Genre: Reality TV, Compilation

Director: Brian Linton

Roxy Jezel, Brooke, Hailey, and Naomi

Cast: Naomi, Brooke, Roxy Jezel, Hailey Young, Evan Stone, Cassie Courtland, Tory Lane, Daisy Marie, Ava Rose, Nani, Riley Shy, Nadia Styles, Jenna Presley, Kimberly Kane
Non sex roles by: Jenna Jameson, Justin Sterling/Jay Grinda, Jim Powers, Jenna Lewis, Andrea Lowell, Brea Bennett

Cassie, Tory, Daisy, and Ava

Length: 48:44+51:58+51:57+51:58 minutes

Date of Production: 11/16/2007 (compilation only); 6/28/2006, 6/30/2006, 7/28/2006

Nani, Jenna Presley, Riley Shy, Nadia Styles, and Jenna Jameson

Extra's: The only extras this time were the trailers, a photogallery, and a list of some websites.

Judges: Jay/Justin, Jenna "Who?" Lewis, and Jim Powers

Condoms: None

Roxy, Tory, Jenna P., Daisy, Brea, and Jenna J.

-- sponsored by --

Audio/Video Quality: Jenna’s American Sex Star 2007 was presented in the usual 1.33:1 ratio full frame color as shot for Playboy TV (a cable channel) by director Brian Linton for release by Club Jenna on DVD. The production values were nicely handled with proper lighting, camera work, and all the trimmings of a “real” contest on TV; a far cry from most porn flicks (which this was not). The video bitrate was often in the mid 7 Mbps and I saw minimal issues with grain, compression artifacts, noise or other matters. The camera work was all over the place but that is probably a result of the contestants being unscripted as to exactly where they would be as much as the quality of the operators. The editing was spotty at best with the appearance that someone had an itchy trigger finger to bounce between cameras too often but the fleshtones were only slightly saturated and having seen a number of similar productions (typically porn titles that used the contest as a theme); I can safely say that none of them looked this good in spite of my misgivings. The audio was presented in a 2.0 Dolby Digital English using the 192 Kbps bitrate. There did appear to be some separation between the channels and while the various musical pieces were a mixed bag, I could hear the ladies well enough as well as the others involved with the show.

Body of Review: Club Jenna is one of the more interesting companies in the industry these days, former performer Jenna Jameson and her former husband Jay having built the company up from the ground only to sell it to Playboy awhile back for millions of dollars. In recent months, Jenna caused a bit of controversy at the AVN Awards Show and as the biggest name in the industry for years, it shocked a number of people when she claimed she’d never spread her legs for the industry ever again. The movies released by the company show a tremendous spread from well done to mediocre but I have to give it credit for trying new things too. One of those things was a series airing on Playboy TV that involved awarding the winner with a contract; a porn version of American Idol based on all the factors used to pick a porn “star” mixed in with a beauty contest. The results from the first season were laughable in that Brea Bennett was selected (a great looking gal that acted like she was in a trance when she fucked) but the show’s second season is now out and they were brave enough to send me a copy this time in Jenna’s American Sex Star 2007: Special Set. The “celebrity” judges were not anyone outside of porn would likely know about, director Jim Powers a skilled man with an edge to him, Justin Sterling (Jenna’s husband at the time) being another director and CEO of Club Jenna, and a gal best known as a lame contestant on another reality TV show, Jenna Lewis. I was cheesed off that the advertised Ron Jeremy and Christy Canyon were not present at all (as advertised on the back cover) but the trio filled out their roles as expected. The cover said it like this: “As host of Jenna's American Sex Star, adult film megastar Jenna Jameson pushes the reality show envelope further than it's ever been before, live on Playboy TV. Jenna and Playboy TV viewers selected bombshells Roxy Jezel, Jenna Presley, Tory Lane and Daisy Marie as the actresses you'd most like to see in action, out of a pool of thousands. Much like that other talent show on network TV, America gets to vote on their favorites. Now the polls are closed and thousands of voters helped name Playboy TV's next "American Sex Star." The winner is now an official Club Jenna Girl. But she had to get past the panel of experts judges first. The hung and stacked jury includes: adult film king Ron Jeremy, adult film queen Christy Canyon, prolific adult film director/producer Jim Powers. And award winning director Justin Sterling.” If this appeals to you, here’s a quick look at the episodes and how everything was set up, noting that most of the hardcore action was in the form of very short clips from a variety of companies:

Scene One/Episode Six: Naomi, Brooke, Roxy Jezel, and Hailey Young, were up first as they competed in beauty, a montage of sexual activity, and blowjob/masturbation. The mighty Evan Stone joined in for the fun in a limited way (using a toy for the gals to blow) and presenter hotty Andrea Lowell seemed nice enough with this season’s judges being Jim Powers, Justin Sterling/Jay Grinda, and Jenna Lewis. The episode was shot on 6/28/2006 and lasted 48:44 minutes but the disparities in how the judges arrived at their votes made a fake show seem even faker. That the audience booed the judges regularly was cute as was the means by which voters at home were allegedly allowed to choose between the two finalists (sure they did!) but it was amusing for a single viewing (largely thanks to Evan’s over the top silliness in the final contest).

Scene Two/Episode Seven: Cassie Courtland, Tory Lane, Daisy Marie, and Ava Rose, were up next in a similar episode shot on 6/30/2006 that lasted 51:58 minutes, making me wonder if something was edited from the previous volume (as the last three volumes were all within a second of one another). The comments about the performances were all crazy again and Jenna’s mechanical hosting duties were such that I’m glad she got a big payout when selling the company. The drummed up melodrama was laughable but perhaps if the series had gone truly over the edge to make the audience believe it was true.

Scene Three/Episode Eight: Nani, Riley Shy, Nadia Styles, and Jenna Presley, were up next with Kimberly Kane helping out at the end. This was also shot on 6/30/2006 and lasted 51:57 minutes but despite the very short clips, I found the ruse of who allegedly did a better job to be wildly out of place. The general dynamic was similar even if the specifics of the last act were changing, yet I’d rather the show go completely hardcore rather than this kind of limited action. I found it funny how Jonni Darkko’s name was so mangled but there were numerous little slips that only the observant would catch.

Scene Four/Episode Nine: Roxy Jezel, Tory Lane, Jenna Presley, and Daisy Marie, were the semi-finalists all gathered up to win the contract and Brea Bennett was on hand to assist this time (though who should assist her was the big question in my mind). Anyone that watches porn knows who won the contract and I think the right gal got the job (not because she was the best performer in these clips or had the best stage presence but made the best fit for what the company wanted the gal for) but as much as people like reality television these days, a lot more polishing up of the concept would have helped. This episode lasted 51:58 minutes and was shot on 7/28/2006 but would be like the rest of the series; best taken in small doses.

Summary: Jenna’s American Sex Star 2007 by director Brian Linton for Club Jenna was a watered down version of a porno in most ways but raised a few smiles from me all the same. For me, it was a Rent It or something I’d watch on cable if I had the Playboy Channel (it’s too expensive for what you get) but the lack of actual sex and the way some of the ladies were treated (even in jest as part of the “act”) left me slightly cold to replay value. If you can get off with something like this, by all means check it out but Jenna’s American Sex Star 2007: Special Set was more of a novelty compared to the majority of titles but in fairness, they did include some behind the scenes moments talking about the rehearsals and limitations so it wasn’t without its moments.

You can email me with questions at Houstondon @ hotmail.com if you have any constructive criticism of the review too. :) Also you can follow me on twitter @HoustonDon

comments powered by Disqus
Popular Reviews

The Preacher's Daughter
First Anal 2
Hot Wife 2
Nurses Takin' On Big Dicks 3
Angela Loves Men 2
My Sister's Hot Friend 49
The Feral Woman
Anal Threesomes
Pirates 2 Stagnetti's Revenge
Curvy Girl Sexercise

Best Sellers

Featured Reviews

Get XCritic Via Email:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner