About the Must-See Girls Awards.

Dr. Jay, noted adult critic and veteran reviewer for www.xcritic.com, has had enough: "I've reviewed adult titles for over 12 years and have critiqued more than 500 movies--that's more than 2500 sex scenes! I've seen good talent, great talent, and incendiary talent. Although a few girls receive well-earned kudos, most of their work is never given the honor it deserves."  Indeed, there are simply too few awards for too many superb performers. And, some stellar actresses "sweep" the awards from numerous organizations, leaving other girls completely unrecognized--perhaps for their entire careers. And, it sometimes appears that awards are based more on politics than on performance.

When sorting through the hundreds of titles he receives yearly from more than 25 studios, Dr. Jay uses a triage system...for sure, maybe, and yawn. "I noticed that movies featuring certain girls always made my "for sure" stack. So, I started a list of these must-see girls...those whose appearance and, more importantly, passion make me hunger for more. In fact, I can truthfully say that I can hardly wait to get my hands on movies featuring each of my must-see girls."

To share his passion for his "must-see" girls--and help his readers choose which movies to buy or rent--Dr. Jay decided to begin an annual "baker's dozen" list of 13 performers to honor with special recognition. Thus, the Dr. Jay's Must-See Girls Award was born in 2007.

Each recipient of a Dr. Jay's Must-See Girls Award receives a laser-engraved walnut plaque.

The inaugural 2007 recipients of the Dr. Jay's Must-See Girls Award were, in no particular order, Candy Manson, Missy Monroe, Kimberly Kane, Tory Lane, Brooke Haven, Cassie Young, Teagan Presley, jessica drake, Eva Angelina, Carmella Bing, Jesse Jane, Hillary Scott, and Kelly Madison.

In 2008, winners included Alexis Love, Amy Ried, Aubrey Addams, Brianna Love, Carmen Luvana, Gianna, Jada Fire, Jana Jordan, Jenna Haze, Paulina James, Sasha Grey, Shay Jordan, and Shyla Stylez.

The 2009 winners are Alektra Blue, Bree Olson, Lexxi Tyler, Mikayla Mendez, Nikki Benz, Roxy Deville, Sammie Rhodes, Shawna Lenee, Sindee Jennings, Sophia Santi, Stoya, Sunny Lane, and Tori Black.

In 2010, Alexis Texas, Angelina Armani, Angelina Valentine, Ashlynn Brooke, Bobbi Starr, Jayden James, Jenna Presley, Julia Ann, Kagney Linn Karter, Kayden Kross, Kristina Rose, and London Keyes were added to the roster of hottest girls in porn.

2011 saw the beginning of XCritic’s monthly Must-See Girl. The delectable Riley Steele was selected as Miss January while Monique Alexander was crowned Miss February, followed by Mason Moore in March, Heather Starlet in April, Chanel Preston in May, Dana DeArmond in June, Asa Akira in July, Charley Chase in August, Alexis Ford in September, Andy San Dimas in October, Lily La Beau in November, and Ashli Orion in December.

Digital Playground generously sponsored the 2009 and 2010 award plaques while Adam & Eve sponsored the 2011 awards.

2012 winners included Jynx Maze (January), Franceska Jaimes (February), Joanna Angel (March), Bridgette B. (April), Skin Diamond (May), and Tasha Reign (June).

Due to family and day-job issues, the Must-See Girls program, along with Dr. Jay, went on hiatus in summer 2012. However, the awards were restarted in January of 2014 when Bonnie Rotten, one of the best-ever porn stars, received the honor. Later in 2014, kudos went to Courtney Taylor, and Venus Lux.


In 2010, Dr. Jay and XCritic.com initiated a new award: the Must-See Girl of the Year. Each year, a lovely lady who has already won a Must-See Girl award and whose performances continue to sizzle month after month, is selected as Girl of the Year. These girls are the very best of the best, and any Must-See Girl is eligible for Girl of the Year.


Each Hall of Fame winner has been a Must-See Girl for at least FIVE years. In pornstar years, that’s an eternity. However, each Hall of Fame inductee is still as hot as ever, at the top of her field, and continues to please in each and every one of her scenes. Hall of Fame winners are the best of the best, and really deserve our respect and admiration for a lifetime of fantastic fucking.

Dr. Jay’s Must-See Girls